Skip to content

Gramp’s TV Table

February 16, 2009

Today I visited my grandfather at the nursing home and brought him a new table I’ve just completed. It’s a TV table covered entirely in baseball cards. The cards are all different players and teams and various years ranging from the 60’s to present. He loved the table and spent quite a long time gazing at the different players. He picked out Cal Ripken Jr. and Johnny Damon as a couple of his favorites.

We talked about baseball for a while and he spoke fondly of a time in the late 30’s when he got paid to play baseball for an amateur team in Rhode Island. $5 per game, which in those days was a pretty decent day’s work. He would have gladly played for free I bet.

I think this table will be a good distraction for him. If it takes his mind off being stuck in a nursing home for just a little while each day, I think that will be good for him. Maybe it will take his thoughts back to that old ball field in Providence where he hits a game winning home run.

gramps-table1

gramps-table-top31

Tray Table Top

Tray Table Top

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 11:51 pm

    Matt, what a genuinely nice thing to do. Very heartfelt. It sounds like your grandpa really appreciated it.

    On another note, it looks really sharp, too.

    I think the coolest part about this and your other designs is that you’ve found a way for people to enjoy baseball cards beyond just shoving them in a box. And that is a great thing to do.

  2. March 13, 2009 11:50 pm

    Thanks Dave, it’s definitely helped my Grandfather to pass the time. I was able to use some cards he gave me many years ago, so it’s pretty special for me to give back to him.

    I totally agree, it’s great to have found a way to do something with the cards other than keep them in a shoe box in the basement.

  3. April 22, 2009 9:14 pm

    Lookin’ sharp Matt.

    That was a very kind hearted, thoughtful thing to do for him. He will always remember you and think of you as he looks at that table. I can’t wait to take woodshoppe in high school to learn this stuff! sad, i am only in 7th grade though :(.

  4. April 23, 2009 12:38 am

    this is probably my favourite piece by you.

Leave a Reply

