Skip to content

MLB Power Pros 2008

April 24, 2009

In a recent visit to the local Game Stop, I picked up a used copy of MLB Power Pros 2008 for the Wii. I have to say, I wasn’t sure about the cartoon appearance of this game at first, but it’s really grown on me. In fact, I think this style is a refreshing change from the realistic looking sports games that have dominated the market for the past few years. After all, video games are meant to be fun aren’t they?

bosox3-screenshot_viewer_medium

But don’t let the childish look of this game fool you, because it actually has quite a lot of depth, letting you take control of your own franchise as GM with decision making on almost every aspect of the game from making Manny practice his speed around the bases to purchasing new equipment for the team. It even gets the little details correct, like the way Kevin Youkilis holds the bat or the slow wind-up of Matsuzaka. Can you tell I’ve been playing with the Red Sox?

Also impressive are the graphics, which offer some stunning views of all major league parks, and the game play really makes you feel like you’re making solid contact with the ball. If you’re old school, it may remind you of RBI Baseball for NES. I’ve just started a season… hmm…. should I trade Manny away and pick up Jason Bay? I don’t know, Manny’s batting .536 right now!

manny-power-pros

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 7:08 pm

    actually, i wasn’t much for it. i found it extremely hard to hit and to catch… 🙂 Maybe it is more fun with the wii though, i tried it on the ps2 :mrgreen: Honestly i can not stand all these mlb 2k games, They’re so hardddddddddddd! i get so frusterated with them, and games are suppose to be fun. oh, P.S. trade away manny dude, jason bay is a power hitter with speed and outfield written all over him :). Good luck with the Sox! and wish me luck with my angels in a baseball game called “Slugfest”! that’s the only real baseball game i can play besides “the bigs”.

  2. April 25, 2009 12:01 am

    Yeah, I think I will make the trade. Gotta keep it semi-realistic I guess!

  3. April 25, 2009 2:18 am

    Indeed sir, indeed… 🙂

  4. April 27, 2009 1:04 pm

    I have the 2007 version of MLB Power Pros for the Wii, and I really like it. The gameplay is fun, there’s a LOT of depth, and there’s quite a few options for difficulty settings, to find what is right for you.

    I created my own team on there, featuring me and my friends (by editing the stats & images of minor-league players — just restore them back before starting the season). It was great. On a side note, I made my team with known weaknesses, so we wouldn’t win all the games. That made it a lot more realistic and suspenseful.

  5. April 28, 2009 6:53 pm

    That’s cool about making your own team, maybe I’ll give that a shot!

  6. May 9, 2009 3:45 pm

    You forgot to mention another important aspect in regards to the realism of this game: I ALWAYS KICK YOUR BUTT, bahahaha! ❤

  7. May 28, 2011 2:14 am

    I have this version on the PS2 and really enjoy it. I got it for sale for $4 when they had huge sale. The game is arcade but from what I found out uses the same engine as the 2k games. I just wrote a review of RBI Baseball on the NES check out gamegavel.com for the review. Do you still play this game? I just started a new season and beat the cubs 45-6, I think I need to up the difficulty.

  8. May 18, 2017 11:50 pm

    Plouf plouf.Compte tenu de la limite de longueur des messages imposée par FB j’ai dû me contenter du lien… C’était ça ou &lsudo; réuiger&nbap;&raqqo; un article en concaténant des extraits du votre, procédé bien trop proche du plagiat à mon gout.Commentaire précédent parfaitement inutile donc, autant pour moi.

Leave a Reply

